External Locks

You can use Photolock to prevent your images from appearing on search engines and social media.

In this article

⚠️This feature is only available on Premium Plan

Google Lock

One great way to prevent images from being stolen is to prevent them from being cached by Google as a part of Google Image Search Results. If you'd like to prevent pictures from appearing in Google Image Search Results, you can activate the Google Lock feature on Photolock™.

The Google Lock feature only works for new images added your page, and will prevent existing images from being indexed by Google, it will not retroactively remove images from Google Search Results that have already been indexed. To remove previously indexed images, please visit this tutorial.

Bing Lock

One great way to prevent images from being stolen is to prevent them from being cached by Bing as a part of Bing Image Search Results. If you'd like to prevent images from appearing in Bing Image Search Results, you can activate the Bing Lock feature on Photolock™.

The Bing Lock feature only works for new images added your page, and will prevent existing images from being indexed by Bing, it will not retroactively remove images from Bing Search Results that have already been indexed. It may take up to a month for your previously indexed images to disappear from search results.

Facebook & Twitter Locks 

Social platforms like Facebook & Twitter use various methods to make posts more engaging on their platforms. One of the standard techniques is to capture an image to display in the post when a website address is shared, and these platforms attempt to do so every time a user shares a web URL.

Facebook & Twitter Locks enable you to tell Facebook & Twitter not to capture an image from your website if a user ever shares your website address.

Pinterest Lock


When you enable Pinterest Lock in the Photolock™ settings menu, you can prevent visitors from saving or “pinning” images from your site to their Pinterest boards.

To enable Pinterest Lock, go to the Photolock™ App Dashboard and click the settings button. Then toggle the Pinterest Lock feature (under External Services section) to the "on" position.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us